MTHBD 210
 CALCULUS AND ANALYTIC GEOMETRY WITH APPLICATIONS
Fall 2004
Section 3:  10:00 - 10:50,   MWF: Room 204 Turnbull,  Tue: Room 167 N Nick
Instructor: Scott  Stevens 
(my home page)
Office: 132 Science Building
Phone 814-898-6090
email: sas56@psu.edu

Announcements:
The Final (200 point) Exam is on  Tuesday December 14.
Time: 2:00 - 3:50 PM, Place: 204 Turnbull (our usual classroom)

Half will cover 6.7, 7.1 - 7.4, 7.6-7.7.
The other half is cumulative.

 

There will be a review session on Monday December 13 from 2:30 - 3:30 in Turnbull 203

 
Syllabus  Calendar Handouts
PSU course descripton MTHBD 210 PSU important Dates  

Homework #1: Due Friday September 3 (will not be collected)
Homework #2: Due Tuesday September 14
Homework #3: Due Tuesday September 21
Homework #4: Due Monday October 4
Homework #5: Due Tuesday October 12
Homework #6: Due Monday October 25
Homework #7: Due Monday November 1
Homework #8: Due Monday November 8
Homework #9: Due Tuesday November 16
Homework #10: Due Monday November 22
Homework #11: Due Tuesday December 7

Maple Labs: You may either view these as html files or download them as Maple worksheets.

Lab 1:  Getting Started With Maple:                            Due Friday September 10 (One Page Only)
           Maple Worksheets, Basic Commands, Plotting
              Download as a Maple Worksheet    Lab 1
              View  Lab 1 (html)

Lab 2:  Infinite Limits, Limits at Infinity, Finite Limits:   Due Tuesday September 21 (One Page Only)  
           The "limit" command.
              Download as a Maple Worksheet    Lab 2
              View  Lab 2 (html)

Lab 3:  Secant Lines, Tangent Lines, Derivatives   Due: Friday October 1 (One Page Only)
         The "D" and "diff" commands for differentiation
                Download as a Maple Worksheet     Lab 3
                View  Lab 3

Lab 4:  Analysis of functions   Due: Wednesday October 13 (One Page Only)
         Relative minimums, maximums, and inflection points.  
                Download as a Maple Worksheet     Lab 4
                View  Lab 4

Lab 5:  Newton's Method   Due: Friday November 12 (One Page Only)
        Approximating roots of polynomials, Approximating Pi
                Download as a Maple Worksheet     Lab 5
                View  Lab 5

Lab 6:  Antidifferentiation, Integral Curves, Area Approximations   Due: Friday November 19 (Two Page Max)
                Download as a Maple Worksheet     Lab 6
                View  Lab 6